Published On: Tue, Jun 12th, 2012

Wilko Johnson Autobiography

Ex- Dr. Feelgood guitarists tells his story

This is bound to be a great read…

Due for release on Wednesday 30th May 2012 – Looking Back At Me is the unique, vibrant and hotly anticipated autobiography of former Dr Feelgood guitarist, British R&B legend and proto-punk pioneer Wilko Johnson, written and collated with acclaimed music writer Zoë Howe.

Fascinating, funny, deeply personal and visually compelling, Looking Back At Me is a fascinating rock 'n' roll scrapbook and oral history, and genuine treasure trove, marking the first time Wilko has told his story, no holds barred.

Within these colourful pages, the Canvey Island raised guitarist shares his recollections on everything from his Essex childhood and his Indian odyssey as a hippy, to the wild, turbulent days of Dr Feelgood and Ian Dury and The Blockheads, to his current band featuring Norman Watt-Roy (bass) and Dylan Howe (drums).
Wilko also expands on his love for astronomy, art, literature, clouds, poetry, sci-fi, and Shakespeare; making him the ultimate Renaissance man of rock.
Amid the twists, turns and tangents, Looking Back At Me features many previously unseen images of Wilko from throughout his life, as well as an array of Wilko ephemera and anecdotes from notable Wilko fans including Robert Plant, Alison Moyet, JJ Burnel, Keith Levene, Gavin Martin and Whispering Bob Harris. The book also features a foreword by Mick Farren.
Zoë Howe is a music writer whose books include the acclaimed biography 'Typical Girls? The Story of The Slits' and 'How's Your Dad? Living In The Shadow of a Rock Star Parent', both published by Omnibus Press, and her writing has appeared in The Quietus, NME, BBC Music, Channel 4 Music, Contemporary Magazine, Company and others. In addition to writing she has made music radio series for Resonance FM and RTI, and has appeared as a talking head on Absolute Radio, BBC 6 Music, E4 and Planet Rock. Zoë is also a drummer and has worked with Viv Albertine (The Slits), Anne Pigalle, Mick Jones, and Steve Beresford.
Out Wednesday 30th May 2012
RRP: £25.00

Both Photos: © Jerry Tremaine



Read previous post:
Sound Affects Meet Their Maker

Paul Reed Smith pays a visit to PRS specialist shop Sound Affects