Published On: Thu, Jul 14th, 2011

Johnny Winter New Album Announced

Blues legend Johnny Winter has announced details of his new ‘All-Star’ album

Blues guitar fans should be extremely excited at the news that maestro guitarist Johnny Winter is releasing a new covers album – Roots – aided by a superb line-up of famous faces including Derek Trucks, Susan Tedeschi, John Medeski, Vince Gill, Warren Haynes, John Popper, Jimmy Vivino and Winter's brother Edgar.

Winter has chosen tunes that have had a big effect on him over the years."Every song I loved – they're all big influences on me," Winter stated. "It's way past time for me (to record an album like this)."

The album is released on Megaforce Records and is produced by guitarist Paul Nelson. Johnny also appears on the new William Shatner album!

The tracklisting for 'Roots' is as follows:

1) T-Bone Shuffle (featuring Sonny Landreth slide guitar)
2) Further On Up The Road (featuring Jimmy Vivino guitar)
3) Done Somebody Wrong (featuring Warren Haynes slide guitar)
4) Got My Mojo Workin’ (Frank Latorre – Harmonica)
5) Last Night (featuring John Popper on harp)
6) Maybellene (featuring Vince Gill on guitar)
7) Bright Lights, Big City (featuring Susan Tedeschi on lead guitar and vocals)
8) Honky Tonk (featuring Edgar Winter on sax)
9) Dust My Broom (featuring Derek Truckson slide guitar)
10) Short Fat Fannie (featuring Paul Nelson on guitar)
11) Come Back Baby (featuring John Medeski on organ)



Read previous post:
R.I.P. Michael ‘Wurzel’ Burston

Sad News: Motorhead's former guitarist Michael 'Wurzel' Burston passed away on the 9th July aged 61.